The Parents

My parents are both over-protective and highly amusing – for instance, when I was six they gave me a chocolate that, unknown to them, contained strawberry liqueur and then when I had eaten it (and enjoyed it, I have to admit) and realised it’s content made me lie down for an hour as if they were expecting me to keel over. Another time would be when I accidentally drank bad milk and everyone in the room looked at me as if I should suddenly drop dead from food poisoning. When some people’s parents stop talking to each other for three days (like the time when my dad walked into a lamp-post and my mum couldn’t stop laughing), they may be concerned. Personally, I enjoy the peace and quiet.

Leave a Reply

