Pumpkin Carving!

As my father rudely pointed out, in the leaf I wrote in for my last post, I spelt ‘pumpkin’ with a ‘g’ at the end, so let me firstly apologise for that. Now let me show you the pumpkin I carved, right from the trailer to the front door step.

1) Select your pumpkin from the vast array they have at the pumpkin-selling place (as we call it – they don’t appear to have a name.

20141031_160016[1]

This was my pumpkin – heavier than you’d think it would be

2) Once you have selected it, clean it up so you get all the icky stuff off, especially if you got it from so far down in the trailer you nearly fell in trying to get it. Clearly I didn’t do that. Of course not.

20141031_161251[1]

Holy bananas it’s so clean and shiny! How did she do it!?

3) Cut off the top bit of the pumpkin where the stalk is and use that like a lid, and then scrape out all the seeds and stringy fibre stuff so you can put candles in it.

20141031_163110[1]

I am aware this is a bit manky-looking, but this side was a bit icky from sitting in the rain. It’s England, what can I say? It rains.

4) CARVE THE PUMPKIN! OMG ISN’T IT SO VERY EXCITING UH HUH UH HUH!

20141031_164135[1]

I know yours won’t ever possibly look as good as mine will, but you can have a go. It’s like trying to copy the Mona Lisa

5) Put some tea-lights inside them and light them for when it’s dark, and then their faces will have an orange glow. Like lots of people in Essex (JOKES!).

20141031_165745[1]

Candles inside pumpkins. I think that was rather self-explanatory.

6) Arrange them outside your house so people will know you are open for trick or treating. This has its good and bad effects – I am living in terror that I will answer the door to a pack of tall, rowdy teenage boys who are older than me. Non-rowdy I am quite looking forward to.

20141031_165802[1]

Mines the one on the right – mum did the other one.

20141031_170735[1]

This was dad’s one. See if you can spot where he put it in the next picture – had to get the ladder and everything.

20141031_170943[1]

Lol. We like Halloween, I think you might have got that.

Leave a Reply

