Dreams

When I say ‘dreams’, I don’t mean the type where you are girlfriend to a member of 5 Seconds of Summer and awaken thinking ‘well done subconscious’. I’m talking of the type that drives us to do things, aspirations, goals in life. I am currently reaching the age where parties containing a lot of adults/relatives include any questions from the following;

– “So, how old are you now?”
– “What subjects have you chosen to take?”
– “Got many friends?”
– “What are you going to do at university?”
– “What do you want to do for a career?”

I am quite good at answering the first three questions; “no, not eight”, “too many” and “obviously, have you seen my sparkling personality”, but I have no clue about the last two. Sometimes I pretend to mishear and start talking about the weather (I’m English, it’s an acceptable topic to discuss), but if it’s someone who I haven’t seen since I was about two and won’t see for another few decades then I’ll say something to make them impressed, like “either an astrophysicist or a microbiologist, depending on what the pay’s like” and then saunter away to the pudding end of the buffet. Of course, that opens the door to the vortex in my mind where all I can think is “oh god, I have no idea what I want to do with my life and the house prices are going up and I’m going to live with my parents until I’m ninety five. WHAT ABOUT THE HOUSE PRICES?!”,ย and as I’m sure you know, an existential crisis is a bit of a downer on the party mood and tends to leave me determined to marry some rich footballer.

But even when I’m not being reminded by someone with three children, a big house and a Labrador that I am a clueless youth, it is noticeable that a lot of people my age know exactly what they are going to do or at least have a subject that they really, really love, but I have no clue! The careers we are told about tend to be a bit rubbish as well, generally ‘mathematician’, ‘writer’ or ‘scientist’. But anyway, I’m sure something will come along. Anyone else like this? Comment below, but if you can think of any careers I haven’t heard of then please tell me! Oh dear I need to go and eat a lot of cake. TTFN.

4 thoughts on “Dreams

  1. Don’t worry too much about not knowing what you want to be. Just don’t make the same mistake a lot of college-aged kids do and go off for some general degree, because it gives you no real advantage to finding a job and only leaves you with a massive student loan debt that won’t be paid off for many many years. Take some time to find what you’re passionate about and find a way to make money doing it. Until then, there’s no shame in part-time work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m still in school at the moment but it seems that teachers and adults expect you to have your whole life planned out when we’re all still just kids that want to stay in bed for the rest of our lives! But thank you, I really appreciate the advice and I’ll bear it in mind ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. violetcx says:

    Well the careers adviser said I want to be a nanny… disliking small children greatly makes me feel a little like the half hour I spent with her was slightly wasted. Don’t worry, I’m in the same state of mine! Good ol’ school doing good in the lives of today’s youth ๐Ÿ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

