FEMINISM

Okay, so this matter was brought to my mind when I was walking down the street and heard someone say (and I have replaced all expletives with the word ‘banana’) ‘yeah, all these feminists and banana, haven’t you noticed yeah that these women are all ugly? What is their problem?’ Please take all the time you need to recover from the vast quantities of stupid I have just typed, but may I just say:

beyonce feminism

Beyonce

UN Women's "HeForShe" VIP After Party

Emma Watson – publicly spoke in front of the UN about gender equality

andy samburg feminism

Andy Samberg – yes, guys can be feminists. Some people don’t know that, surprisingly

Okay, so for one thing we have established that feminists can be anyone, whether they are considered gorgeous or not, male or female. A lot of people are unclear about what feminism is, so here you go: it’s not about hating men, not about thinking women are better. Just that women and men are completely and utterly equal. I felt the need to clear that up – a lot of people say ‘women are better than men’ and then go on to say they are a feminist. They are not.

I have no problems asking people of the opposite gender to unblock the drain or put new batteries in the fire alarm just because I think women should be equal and do all the same things as men. But if I was told that I can’t do those things, just because of who I am, that’s when I’d get mad!

Sorry to write such a long post and if you don’t agree with me then I really don’t mind and you are utterly entitled to think so. This was simply my opinion, and one that I share with a lot of my friends, but I hope I’ve helped you to see another side of the argument.

4 thoughts on “FEMINISM

  1. I agree with you entirely! More people should know this.
    I think they should also know that, while we do want gender equality, that doesn’t mean we are going to go on a rant whenever a guy decides to be chivalrous just for the sake of being nice. I’m not about to say no to an offered hand just because the one doing the offering is a guy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

